What is Neurocam?

Neurocam is very specific about what it is not. Its website asserts that:
neurocam is not a cult religion
neurocam is not a scientific discovery
neurocam is not anything to do with politics
neurocam is not anything to do with religion
neurocam is not a prank or a hoax

However, it's not clear at all exactly what Neurocam is. Compounding the mystery is that billboards have been appearing around Australia bearing the message "Get out of your mind" and directing people towards the neurocam website. There's not much to see on the site itself, but if you register and successfully pass the 'background checks' they put you through, you're eventually given strange tasks to perform, such as giving a stranger a locked briefcase. The leading theory is that neurocam is some kind of Alternative Reality Game. Or it could be a bizarre viral advertising campaign. Or it could be an art project. The people on Metafilter theorize it has something to do with this 'company' marketing Human Possibility.


Posted on Mon Jan 17, 2005


I tried registering, but it wouldn't work :(
Posted by Citizen Premier  in  San Diego  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  05:36 PM
A nerve camera? Maybe it's to see how much nerve you have? Kinda like the old MTV show jackass?
Posted by Casey W.  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  06:37 PM
Neuro-Linguistic Programming has a Coaching and Mentoring OnLine (CAM for short)http://www.coachingandmentoringonline.com/
Posted by TiaMaria6577  in  Alberta  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  08:06 PM
I suspect it's some sort of neo-dadaist movement and the name wasn't picked for anything more than phonetic significance.
Posted by Citizen Premier  in  San Diego  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  08:28 PM
It now claims not to be an ARG. I'm pretty sure it's related to ShellyInnocence- 'she' mentions it in her webjournal.
I registered, we'll see where this goes! I'm amused that the registration form is from the old Matt's Script Archive.
Posted by Katey  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  10:10 PM
Wow. Sounds like the movie "The Game."
Posted by Ga  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  09:42 AM
This link, http://www.vca.unimelb.edu.au/admin/admin_links/projekt/artists/hely.html, suggests that Neurocam's "Robert Henley" is actually artist Robert Hely and that the whole thing is an elaborate art piece.
Posted by Dusty  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  11:08 AM
well i've registered. nothing much has happened yet. maybe its just a collation of names.
Posted by Nick  in  Merrie Olde Englande  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  11:51 AM
I couldn't help it, I registered. We'll see.
Posted by lilad  in  Canada  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  04:26 PM
I registered too. I just received this response from Neurocam:

Dear Applicant

Thank you for expressing interest in Neurocam.

Your application has been forwarded to a designated officer within the
Human Resources Security Division so that our organization can further
evaluate your suitability for recruitment.

In the interest of facilitating an expedient assessment, the Human
Resources Security Division is currently implementing a series of
background checks.
Posted by The Curator  in  San Diego  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  04:35 PM
I registered shrub for this. Tee hee.
Posted by BugbearSloth  in  earth, 3rd planet, sol system  on  Wed Jan 19, 2005  at  12:37 AM
Oooooook, I registered, and now I am a little freaked out. I have ran detailed searches on the president of this company and this is a little too secret. They spent 10K on a billboard just for people to go to their web site. It seems that no one can hack in their systen. Very strange shit. I also recieved an email just like the one stated earlier.
Posted by Stephen  on  Wed Jan 19, 2005  at  11:37 AM
I registered with neurocam under the following name, with asterisks removed (asterisks so that Neurocam can't Google for the name and find me): J*o*n*e*s S*t*e*v*e*n*s*o*n.

I've been looking around the web, treating it as a joke, and it seems that it's not. Neurocam seem to be pretty well-funded and pretty dedicated to what they do (whatever that is). I'm going to see what happens, keeping regular updates on my blog (http://tohellinamilkfloat.blogspirit.com).

I may at some point cite the Data Protection Act, asking for details of all confidential data they hold on me, and see whether they are willing to provide it. Any assignments I recieve will be posted on my blog if frivolous, and sent to the British Home Office if serious.

Frankly, I don't know whether it's all a joke or not!
Posted by John  in  London, England  on  Wed Jan 19, 2005  at  01:08 PM
You're all getting worked up over nothing, you know...
Posted by Myotas  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  02:13 AM
Using asterisks to protect yourself is pretty sneaky.
Posted by John  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  11:52 AM
Before I got a Gmail account, everywhere I posted would get spammed into oblivion. I had to scramble email addresses all the time to prevent spiders (programs that search the web for email addresses to send spam to) from getting me.

But with gmail, I'm not bothered by spam because I know it can't fill up my inbox no matter how much there is.

I am not making a fuss over nothing. What I'm doing is making far too much of a fuss over something it's not worth bothering about!
Posted by John  in  London, England  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  12:13 PM
No, I mean Neurocam. There's really nothing to it. A lot of the torture accusations are easily proved as false, if you look at the story and the video.
Posted by Myotas  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  08:00 PM
Sounds a bit like Join Me http://www.join-me.co.uk/
Posted by Tyn  in  Sheffield, England  on  Sun Jan 23, 2005  at  08:10 PM
Maxwell Knight, Neurocam's supposed Head of Human Resources, Security Division is also the name of a famous and long-dead World War II spy who was good friends with Ian Fleming, the creator of James Bond. The character of Bond's boss 'M' was supposedly based on Maxwell Knight.
Posted by Moof  in  UK  on  Thu Jan 27, 2005  at  03:07 AM
Hugo Pikestaff, eh?

Posted by tc399  on  Mon Feb 14, 2005  at  05:48 PM
Neurocam is a registered trademark that patents multilayer PCB technology. Just a bit of info i thought i'd share with you all.
Posted by Gavin  in  UK  on  Fri Mar 04, 2005  at  04:04 PM
A note to you curious creatures, Maxwell Knight has resigned from Neurocam under very mysterious circumstances. Oh, and to those claiming Neurocam is connected to Shelly Innocence, open your eyes...it's the other way around.
Posted by agent S  on  Wed Apr 20, 2005  at  10:40 AM
Check out my blog http://beltaine.blogspot.com I am a brit with a big mouth. Aussies hate me but I am a Neurocam Operative and have been for over a year. i only started blogging since april but I got shed loads of info if you want to read it and links to other operatives all over the world. I am a private eye in the UK and even with all my resources I still cant find much on them. If you cant beat them join them.
Posted by Beltaine  in  UK  on  Tue Jul 05, 2005  at  04:52 PM
NEUROCAM is dead
Nautioner is hiding
Yellow-1 is a myth
Innocence is a game
Robin Hely is a liar
Posted by Traffie  in  unknown  on  Fri Sep 24, 2010  at  02:36 PM
Commenting is no longer available in this channel entry.